«

»

Oct 31

Monorail Madness in Lubbock: The Truth!

TO ALL DOWNTOWN BUSINESS/PROPERTY OWNERS, RESIDENTS, TAXPAYERS & OTHER AFFECTED PERSONS IN LUBBOCK, TEXAS DON’T BE FOOLED. . .DON’T BE CAUGHT UNAWARE!!!

WHAT THE ADVOCATES OF THE PROPOSED MONORAIL AREN’T TELLING YOU AND DON’T WANT YOU TO KNOW ABOUT

HOW THIS MAY PERSONALLY AFFECT YOU, YOUR BUSINESS, AND YOUR PROPERTY BY:

  • Taking your private property for public use by exercising the power of eminent domain
  • Limiting traffic access to downtown businesses
  • No direct access to downtown businesses from the monorail
  • Additional parking problems
  • Overall devaluation of downtown business property
  • Construction costs that may be imposed upon and/or passed-through to business & property owners
  • Cost per mile (8 total miles) could run as high as 85-150 Million dollars per mile according to estimates gathered by other communities
  • Noise pollution & trash (litter) along the proposed route
  • The overall destruction of Historic Broadway—No more Broadway Parades
  • Potential destruction of heritage trees
  • The potential negative impact to the downtown churches
  • The likelihood of increased costs and decreased income
  • Creating “winners and losers” among existing businesses
  • Closing of businesses during construction due to lack of access
  • Secretive cost/benefit or environmental analyses not made public
  • Sources and amounts of funding and maintenance remain a secret from public
  • Called “only a concept” by city leaders, the project keeps moving down the road with major lobbying efforts in Washington D. C.
  • Financial failures of rail systems in other cities not taken into consideration
  • State and Federal grants are STILL our tax dollars going to waste

 

DON’T BE FOOLED BY THE RHETORIC PROMOTING CITY DEVELOPMENT!!!!

SEE THIS FOR WHAT IT REALLY IS!!!

A COSTLY & FRIVOLOUS PROPOSAL THAT BENEFITS ONLY A FEW AT THE EXPENSE OF DOWNTOWN SMALL BUSINESS, PROPERTY OWNERS & TAXPAYERS!!!

Proposed 8 Mile Lubbock Monorail Route

Proposed Route

 

Who to Contact?

City Council

Mayor Glen Robertson grobertson@mylubbock.us 806-775-2011

Latrelle Joy ljoy@mylubbock.us 806-775-2031

Councilman Victor Hernandez vhernandez@mylubbock.us 806-775-2027

Councilman Floyd Price fprice@mylubbock.us 806-775-2007

Councilman Jeff Griffith JGriffith@mylubbock.us (806) 775-2023

Councilman Jim Gerlt jgerlt@mylubbock.us 806-775-2008

Councilwoman Karen Gibson kgibson@mylubbock.us 806-775-2011

Councilwoman Latrelle Joy ljoy@mylubbock.us 806-775-2031

County Judge and Commissioners

Judge Tom Head 806-775-1558 thead@co.lubbock.tx.us

Contact Number for all Commissioners is 806-775-1335

Bill McCay bmccay@co.lubbock.tx.us

Mark Heinrich mheinrich@co.lubbock.tx.us

Lorenzo Sedeno bsedeno@co.lubbock.tx.us

Patti Jones pjones@co.lubbock.tx.us

Other Important Contacts

Senator Charles Perry
11003 Quaker Ave.,
Suite 101 Lubbock, Texas  79424
806-783-9934

Representative John Frullo
7720 University Lubbock, Texas 79407
806-853-8275

US Congressman Randy Neugebauer
611 University Ave.,
Suite 220 Lubbock, Texas 79401
806-763-1611

US Senator Ted Cruz
Dirksen Senate Office Bldg. Suite 185
Washington D. C. 20510
202-224-5922

Chancellor Robert Duncan
Texas Tech University System
P. O. Box 42013 Lubbock, Texas 79409-2013
806-742-0012